First Blog Post Struggles

I sit here at my dining room table around 9:00 pm on a Tuesday night staring at the bright screen of my laptop trying to find the “perfect” thing to say or discuss in my first post on this blog. Trying to come up with the ideal words is like attempting to recall a dream from the night before; the harder you try, the farther out of grasp it becomes.

So I have decided, within the theme of this blog, I am going to lessen the stress and pressure on myself and simply use this opportunity to introduce myself. If you have read my About Page then some of this will sound familiar, but I promise to open up a little more in the following sentences (but I won’t give all of the good stuff away in the first post because where’s the fun in that?).

My name is Becca Haney and I live in a suburb of Dayton, Ohio called Centerville.  I am a Licensed Professional Counselor and I work in a private practice setting in Dayton.  I work with adolescents, adults, couples, families, and groups regarding a wide variety of mental health, personal, and relational concerns all in the hopes of making some sort of positive impact on the lives of others.  What got me interested in being in this field is a whole other post in itself, but I will say that I have learned a lot more about myself than I expected through the process of learning about and helping others; knowledge that I hope to pass on to all of you.

Going back a little further, I was born and raised in Cleveland, Ohio (Go Cavs! Go Tribe!) and it was just me and my parents; no siblings for me.  I was a nerd throughout school and I would still classify myself as one today; I now carry that label with honor and pride! I attended college at Miami University (Love and Honor) in Oxford, Ohio and I graduated with my Master’s degree from the University of Dayton (Go Flyers!) just this past May.  So the moral of the story is I am a true-blooded Ohioian.

What you can expect from this blog are weekly posts about:

  • Health and Fitness
  • Yoga (lots and lots of yoga!)
  • Mental health facts and fiction
  • Spiritual exploration
  • Self-care
  • Emotion management and coping
  • And much more…

Also, make sure to follow my various social media accounts that are linked at the bottom of this site to get more frequent tips, tricks, and knowledge about the above topics!

Well, I think that is a good starting point for us to begin getting acquainted with each other.  If you have any questions or comments for me please share them below, I would love to hear from every single one of you!  (Being that I am a blogging newbie, feedback on this first post, either positive or critical, is welcome and encouraged as well)

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day (because whose day isn’t busy nowadays?) to begin this journey with me! I look forward to seeing what this opportunity brings me and I can’t wait to get to know you all through this new and exciting adventure!

Best wishes!

 

Leave a Reply

